Commonwealth Courts

High Court of Australia


The High Court is the highest court in the Australian judicial system. It was established in 1901 by Section 71 of the Constitution. The functions of the High Court are to interpret and apply the law of Australia; to decide cases of special federal significance including challenges to the constitutional validity of laws and to hear appeals, by special leave, from Federal, State and Territory courts.

Federal Court of Australia


The Federal Court of Australia was created by the Federal Court of Australia Act 1976 and began to exercise its jurisdiction on 1 February 1977. The Court is a superior court of record and a court of law and equity. It sits in all capital cities and elsewhere in Australia from time to time.

Federal Circuit Court and Family Court of Australia


The Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia (the Court) has been established by the Federal Circuit and Family Court of Australia Act 2021, bringing together the Family Court of Australia and the Federal Circuit Court of Australia.

Australian Military Court


A robust and dynamic military justice system underpins our discipline and command structures. It provides the appropriate balance between discipline and the rights of individuals, and ensures our personnel work in an ordered but equitable environment. It is critical to maintaining command, retaining our people, our reputation and is ultimately critical to operational effectiveness.

State Courts

Australian Capital Territory

Northern Territory

New South Wales


South Australia



Western Australia